Top election officials in Kenya quit

Three key members of Kenya’s election commission on Monday resigned from their post, a year after helping to organize a very controversial election which was won by incumbent, Uhuru Kenyatta.

The latest resignations mean that the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) of Kenya now has only two commissioners and a chairman.

The chief executive officer of the commission,  Ezra Chiloba was suspended last week over alleged malpractice in procurement.

The three commissioners, Consolata Nkatha, Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat have in a statement said that “The events related to the purported vote (to suspend the CEO) have greatly shaken our already feeble confidence in the chair.”

Last year one of the commissioners, Roselyn Akombe, resigned and fled the country before the rerun of the presidential election saying she feared for her life.

The first round of voting in the Kenya 2017 presidential election was annulled by the country’s Supreme Court after the election commission was deemed to have not followed due process in holding the poll.

The latest development would compound the concerns about the the Kenya election body and how credible it is to conduct effective and fair elections.



You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.