Wednesday, June 19, 2024

EU to allow in visitors from only four African countries amid Covid-19

Must read

Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Africa Feeds Staff writers are group of African journalists focused on reporting news about the continent and the rest of the world.

Only visitors from four African countries will be allowed entry into the European Union territories from July 1, 2020.

The EU released a list of some 14 countries whose citizens are deemed “safe” to be let in amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Algeria, Morocco, Rwanda and Tunisia are the only African nations named on that “safe” list.

The fourteen countries are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The EU excluded US, Brazil and China from the list but said it was ready to add China if the Chinese government offers a reciprocal deal for EU travellers.

- Advertisement -

Many countries imposed travel restrictions at the start of the coronavirus pandemic and are just now relaxing them.

In Africa only a few countries have started reopening their air borders but many of the countries on the continent are still struggling to contain the spread of the virus.

It is unclear why many African countries are missing from the EU’s safe list but when EU guidelines were released weeks ago issue of the infection rate in countries was key.

The EU said its criteria took into consideration the epidemiological data and for now only 14 countries and China subject to reciprocal deal will be allowed to have their citizens visiting the EU.


Stolen 18th century Ethiopian crown to return home



- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -