Monday, August 15, 2022

Ghana: Six new regions created after a referendum

Must read

Isaac Kaledzi
Isaac Kaledzi
Isaac Kaledzi is an experienced and award winning journalist from Ghana. He has worked for several media brands both in Ghana and on the International scene. Isaac Kaledzi is currently serving as an African Correspondent for DW.
- Advertisement -

Ghana has now created six new regions bringing the total number of regions in the country to sixteen.

A referendum was held in areas that had to be split to form the new regions.

The referendum was successfully held with majority of voters voting YES to the new proposed regions.

Voters had either a YES or NO option for the proposed regions.

The new regions created as a result of the referendum are Bono East, North East, Ahafo region, Western North, Savannah and Oti.

- Advertisement -

The original ten regions were the Bono Ahafo, Central, Western, Eastern, Volta, Ashanti, Upper East, Upper West, Greater Accra and Northern regions.

That means the Ghana map has to be revised to cater for the new additions.

New Proposed Map of Ghana after creation of new six regions.

Results published by Ghana’s electoral commission showed that there was over 90 percent endorsement of the newly created regions.

The creation of the new regions was a campaign promise by Ghana’s President Nana Akufo-Addo in 2016.

- Advertisement -

His government considered the successful referendum as significant in fulfilling that promise.

The last time Ghana created new regions was in 1983 under a military regime.


West African nations on alert after threats from Jihadists




- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -