Monday, July 26, 2021

African countries impose travel bans to fight coronavirus

Must read

Isaac Kaledzi
Isaac Kaledzi is an experienced and award winning journalist from Ghana. He has worked for several media brands both in Ghana and on the International scene. Isaac Kaledzi is currently serving as an African Correspondent for DW.
- Advertisement -

Many African countries have imposed travel bans meant to prevent further spread of the coronavirus within their jurisdictions.

Over 26 African countries have so far recorded outbreak of the virus with over 270 cases in total so far.

There are at least six deaths so far from the outbreak in Africa although the numbers are relatively low compared to other continents.

But travel bans have been enforced across many African states.

Some of the African countries that have imposed travel restrictions are Ghana, South Africa, Kenya, Tanzania, Djibouti, Morocco, Tunisia, Libya, Algeria and Mozambique.

- Advertisement -

Apart from travel bans, some of these countries have also banned religious activities, shuts schools and asked employers to allow employees to work from home.

There are indications more African countries will soon also announce travel bans as the continent ensures that the spread of the virus is kept at a low rate.

Over the weekend, Central African Republic, Eswatini, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Seychelles also announced first cases.

The World Health Organization said it is “supporting countries with surveillance, diagnostics and treatment.”

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile in China where for almost two months was on lockdown is now reducing several strict quarantine rules and travel restrictions.

After fighting to contain the spread which infected over 80,000 people and killed over 3,100, life is slowly returning to normal in China.



- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -